Where’s the Music?

Music

Change is the law of nature, we know, but is all change good?

With the recent popularity of nonsense singers like Honey Singh and songs like ‘Angreji Beat,’ or his more recent ‘Main Hun Balatkaari’ – ‘I’m Rapist,’ I think the Indian music is dying a slow, cancerous death.
Some argue, that we are a democratic country and everyone has freedom of speech. I disagree, even animals protect what they feel belongs to them, so aren’t we supposed to protect what is truly ours?

“All change is not growth, as all movement is not forward.” – Ellen Glasgow

For me, good music is as much about poetry as it is about melody. After all, music is poetry set into motion. However, the poetry is slowly moving out of the Indian music. Left are hollow melodies, which are bound to bore the listeners within few days.

All I’m asking for is authentic Indian music which I can be proud of. Which has the melody, the poetry, and the ability to evoke feelings.

Where such music is, I’ve no idea, but one music director I particularly like is M. M. Kreem. Known for musicals such as Criminal, Zakhm, Jism, Dhokha, Sur, and more recent Special 26, his music, I feel, is authentically Indian. It has the Indian texture, the Indian aroma, and makes me feel good every time I hear it. Be it ‘Awarapan Banjarapan’ from the movie Jism, or ‘Maa Ne Kaha’ from Zakhm.

Every time I listen to ‘Kabhi Shaam Dhale’ from the movie Sur, I get goosebumps.
When was the last time you got goosebumps when you heard a song?

© Image credit: walkadog

Love to Hear What You Think:

