An Unexpected Journey of the Hobbit

hobbit

I don’t like to read fiction fantasies. For it’s hard to imagine the unworldly characters, and you keep looking back at the perplexing relationship-map to recall who is who. Now, if you are a fantasy fanatic, you might be grinding your teeth. But I believed all this before I read The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien.

I tried my hand at the young-adult stuff, but half way through The Book Thief, I realized it was not my cup of tea. Out of frustration, and for a change, I picked up The Hobbit.
Boy, what an excellent read it was!

First thing you notice as you start the book is Tolkien’s ‘involving’ writing style – you don’t feel like you are reading a book, rather you feel like you are the Hobbit.

I’m a nature lover, and Bilbo Baggins’s (the hobbit’s) adventure through the mountain passes, over the brooks and streams, and through the thick forests left me with an awe. Many a times I even had dreams about all these.

Throughout the book, I desperately longed to be in the Hobbit’s shoes: ride the ponies through the journey, fight the evil, and in the end do the right thing and return as a winner. But then, isn’t life similar to the Hobbit’s journey? – The good, the evil, and the triumph of the good over the evil?
The Hobbit for me is a symbol of courage. And Bilbo Baggins reinstated my belief that it is the journey that matters the most. The end is just an end – it doesn’t has the thrill of the journey.

So, even if you are not an habitual reader, you should read The Hobbit at least once. Give it a try, and I’m sure you’ll thank me for it.
For me, I’m eagerly waiting for the pack of The Lord of the Rings to arrive.

My Rating: ★★★★★

4 thoughts on “An Unexpected Journey of the Hobbit

  1. Yes! Welcome to the fold.
    I’m so crazy about Tolkien’s legendarium, I believe more in it’s authenticity than in the Ramayan or the Mahabharat!
    If you enjoy Lord of the Rings (and I’m sure you will), do read The Silmarillion and Unfinished Tales too.

    Like

  2. Hobbit’s journey is symbolic of life’s journey.It is the journey that really matters not the end,although the end is only the beginning of another journey. Consider the circle of life and death as an eternal journey.Then only there will be no cause for despondency or regrets. Revel only in the ecstasy of an unforgettable adventure – the JOURNEY.

    Like

Love to Hear What You Think:

