6 Priceless Lessons 2014 Taught Me

The year gone by has evaporated like a puff of smoke. When I look back, I see nothing. Therefore, I dust off the walls of my memory and search for what I have gained and what I have lost in the past year. Here I share with you few priceless things I’ve learned in 2014.
Lessons

1. Friendship is an Investment

I like solitude and that makes me vulnerable; I lose friends. Last year I pondered over why I was not good a keeping friends, and I discovered that each friendship is an investment. You need to nurture it; you need to take initiative. I always waited for the other person to take initiative: to call me, send me new year greetings, to remember the important dates. But we all have busy lives, people move on. I have changed this habit now. If my friends are unable to reach me, I reach out to them. And trust me, it makes a huge difference.

2. People Won’t Change for You

The biggest mistake I’ve made in life is hoping others to change and be the way I want them to be; that is, ‘my way or you are wrong’. But this is not how things are. People most of the time don’t change for you. Best way out is to accept them as they are and stay happy.

3. Time is Precious

Office, home, office – time for self is so elusive. I suffocate when I don’t have time for self-expression; i.e., time to read, write, and being on my own. So I have stopped bothering about the hours, rather I take care of the minutes. Ten minutes of reading before I turn off the light to sleep, five minutes of writing while the MS Word file is getting attached to an email. Ten minutes repeated six times makes an hour. This is how I manage my time and I’m happy about it.

4. Creative Life is Best Life

What do you do if you don’t have any hobby? You feel bored and you kill time on petty things, things that don’t matter to you or anyone else, like gossiping. When I indulge myself in a creative work I feel happy and lively. Life then becomes interesting. So I ensure to do something creative everyday: to write something every day, to read at least one page every day. Small efforts in the end make a great difference.

5. Travel to Discover Yourself

We travel to discover ourselves. And I’ve observed that if I stay trapped at a single place for a long time, boredom sets in and the creativity leaps out of window. Last year I could not travel much but this year I have travelling high on my cards.

6. Life is NOT Roses all the Time

Life, the bitch, will always keep you on your toes. It is tough. Sometimes you feel frustrated to the last drop of your blood. But then this is how life is. And I’ve learnt that sometimes accepting things as they are is all that is required of you to be happy.
The following quote by Satish Kumar perfectly captures what I intend to say:

“I’m not interested in any outcome. I’m not interested in any achievement. I’m not trying to get somewhere. I’m not trying to succeed in my life. My life is not about success. My life is about self-realization and fulfillment. And if we seek fulfillment, then we have no stress. If we seek success, we will have stress.”

These were the things I wanted to share with you and I hope you found them useful. Or maybe you had similar experiences too.

12 thoughts on “6 Priceless Lessons 2014 Taught Me

  1. this is such an accurate article when I read #1 it was one of those ‘hallelujah’ moments. Even though its something I subconsciously know I guess I haven’t really treated friendship as an investment and is why I’ve lost so many friends in 2014 :/

    overall though, great article!

    Like

  2. These are all great lessons. I have learned the friendship lesson the hard way. I now how very good friendships. Accept people for who they are – I know I don’t want people trying to change me (although a little constructive criticism or a bit of helpful encouragement is welcomed). Time is precious. This is so true, and one of my greatest challenges. There is never enough time. My traveling is rather limited, but I don’t sit at home doing nothing. The last lesson was one of my least favorite. Why can’t life be roses all of the time? It’s not, and I am learning to cope with it when it gets tough.

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually just re-read this post, as I really enjoyed it the first time around. I tend to re-read things and take new things out of them the second time around.

    Where are you planning on travelling this year?

    I loved this: Life, the bitch, will always keep you on your toes.

    Like

  4. 2015 is well into its cycle but I stumbled upon your blog and got to read your probable first post this year. Sunil, have to tell you – I was impressed after a few clicks around your site. Though the content is limited they are genuine i feel, with true emotions and not plagiarised.

    On this current post, the lessons I liked the best are
    – People wont change for you and
    – Time is Precious

    These aren’t new thoughts and doesn’t need a genius to discover them but the way you had articulated was nice. Also another reason why I liked these points were because I follow them very much like a principle, but have to say I’m on very early phase of the journey and got a long long way to go…

    thanks .keep coming up with more good ones.
    Vijay

    Like

Love to Hear What You Think:

